A Creative Challenge

My go-to lens of choice is my Canon 70mm-200mm.

ef70_200_28lisu_c2_186x279 (photo credit to http://www.USA.Canon.com)

I use the lens for just about everything.

For example, I can shoot portraits.

IMG_3597copy

(Look at the good-looking guy!!! I’m missing my oldest punk! Waaaahhhhhhh!!! He’s off playing summer college baseball…I can’t wait to see him play in a couple of tournaments closer to home in a few weeks.)

This lens also allows me to get up close and personal for sports and action shots.

IMG_4238 copy

(That’s my youngest punk who is also playing summer baseball. Thankfully, he’s playing on a local summer select team. He still sleeps in his own bed in his own room. Which means, I still have to go upstairs occasionally and remind him to clean up after himself. I’m sure, one day, I will miss having to tell him to clean up, but right now, not so much.)

Look at the bokeh (the blurry background) the 70mm-200mm gives me.

IMG_3547

See how the plant is isolated and the back- and foregrounds are blurred and creamy? (Photoshop was not used on the above photo, except to create the frame, add my watermark, and to lower the resolution for the internet.)

The 70-200 is my most favorite lens, ever.

Yes, it is large.

And, yes, it’s on the heavy side, sort of. (I’m used to it, so it doesn’t really bother me.)

I know the lens inside and out.

It’s my go-to lens, and, because it’s my go-to lens, I rarely use my other lenses, which is a shame.

I don’t know them quite as intimately and I find myself frustrated when I use them–they are slow, or cumbersome, or too small, or too wide, or too whatever.

So, I’ve given myself a challenge: I’m going to use a different lens over the weekend, exclusively (with the exception of my son’s baseball tournament–I’m trying to build my sports photography business in this new area, so I need to use my 70-200mm).

I’ll report back to you next week with some samples of my work.

I’d also like to issue YOU a challenge. If there is an area of your creative life that needs a little practice or a boost, I challenge you to work on that this weekend.

Is there a particular knitting stitch (stitch?? pearl??) you want to try?

Are you more comfortable using oil paints but would like to improve in water colors?

Do you want to learn to play a new song on the guitar that requires you to learn a new technique or riff?

I don’t know! Just pick something creative you need to improve upon and go for it! Let’s do this together! (I want to hear what you worked on over the weekend, by the way! I expect a full report on my update post!)

In the meantime, have a super weekend!

And, let’s be creative, people!

E.

One comment

  1. Odessa Jarvis

    I’m not sure that really solves all the challenges you face in shooting sports in low light (as I say it’s tricky) but I hope it at least gives you some options to think about and experiment with.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

