June 23, 1990 to Present

Abundant Staff Wedding Photos 028

We were so wet behind the ears, weren’t we, Babe?

Young, and so very, very unprepared.

Unaware.

Naive.

And, oh-so-innocent.

Sometimes I still feel that way. Unprepared. Naive.

Most of the time, though, I feel Secure.

Loved.

Respected. 

Honored.

And Adored.

________________________________________________________________________________________

Over the years, we’ve changed quite dramatically.

Our hairlines have grayed and thinned.

Our middles have expanded and contracted…and expanded again. (Well, okay, mine has expanded again. You quit drinking Dr. Peppers and you magically lost 1,000 pounds in 2 weeks. Yes, I still love you even though I’m desperately jealous.)

Our two boys have each reached well over 6 feet–we are now looking up to speak to them. They are no longer small enough to hoist onto our hips, nor do they take 2 hour afternoon naps. They look like you. And, yet, they look like me. Personality-wise, one is more like you, one my mini-me. And, yet, really, they are not carbon copies of either of us. They are their own, individual, strong, Godly persons.

We’ve survived your various church staff positions over the years and learned from each and every experience. In looking back, even the hurtful job changes can be viewed as good–stretching, growing, hopefully maturing seasons.

We’ve buried both of my parents in less than 5 years.

We’ve moved closer to yours.

IMG_2927

Can you believe we are no longer in our 20s, our 30s?  …We are nearing the age of “older parents,” maybe even grandparent age!

Even with the job changes and moves, etc., I think the last couple of years have been the most trying. Wouldn’t you say that? In a weird, tons-of-change-kind-of-way? And throughout all the years, we have never once discussed the idea of living separately, away from one another. Never.

Has the thought occurred to either of us? I’m sure, yes, but it never gained momentum, was never given life.

I can’t imagine that life; I don’t want to.

I thank God daily that He continues to share you with me, that He shares the boys with us.

You each are a gift, a treasure.

Thank you, ThrillCam, for 23 really great years.

I look forward to 23-plus more with you.

All my love,

E.

P.S. Here’s a crazy and amazing must-read story of some of our family history, our destiny. Not only does it tell a little more of how ThrillCam and I met in college, but how 3 generations earlier, our families were oddly connected.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

