Sorry! Twins

IMG_5259-2 copy

It’s not how it sounds.

These twins are FAR from being sorry.

These twins are precious and wonderful and they steal my heart every time I get to visit them!

IMG_5263 copy

The sorry part comes from a couple million rounds of the game Sorry!

You know I love to play games.

You know I like to win.

…even if it’s against a couple eight-year-olds.

I show no mercy!!

IMG_5254 webcopy

Unfortunately, though, I got my hat handed to me in every single game I played with these two little munchkins.

I lost.

Every time.

I am sorry at Sorry!

But it was worth it.

Because I adore this family.

IMG_5296-Edit webcopy

Earlier this week I wrote about some new friends in our new neighborhood that are on the way to becoming lifelong friends. …much like the above family.

Doug and Margo have been a part of our lives for over 15 years…don’t ask me to do the math.

I don’t know math.

But, I do know good friends.

Margo and ThrillCam served together on staff at a church in Austin a number of years ago. Our hearts were permanently woven together.

We walked through heart-ache when both ThrillCam and Margo left the church. We grieved alongside Margo when her father passed away. We shared in their joy when Doug and/or Margo got new jobs. We served alongside them in Honduras when they were living and serving as missionaries there. Over all the years, we’ve laughed deep belly laughs and shared many stories over our very favorite card game, Nerts–never does a visit go by without a round or two, or seventeen…

But, one of the happiest times for them AND us was the day they brought the twins home from Guatemala.

ThrillCam and I had the beautiful and delightful honor of meeting Doug and Margo at the airport as they stepped back into America carrying two very round, squishy, beautiful, perfect babies who were now a permanent part of their forever family. I’m not sure I know of any two children who were wanted and/or loved more than these two little bambinos.

Suffice it to say, our friendship has lasted over many miles and many more memories.

We don’t get to see them as often as we’d like, but we make a point to visit when our family makes its annual trip to Missouri to pick up kids from camp. They live about 2 hours from the boys’ camp grounds, so there’s no way we’d miss the opportunity to hug their necks and to check how fast the twins are growing.

IMG_5348 cropweb copy 2

When I leave them, I feel uplifted and encouraged, filled and loved.

And, I feel sad, knowing it will be a whole year, most likely, before I lay eyes on this special family.

IMG_5265 copy

Of course, it may take me that full year to get over my multiple losses at the sorry game of Sorry!

E.

I'm curious. Tell me what you think...

